Oily Family- Who Doesn’t Like to Be Spoiled?!

Littleblogdoterra  

Confession time, I love being pampered. Seriously, who doesn’t? But I’m a girl on a budget and that means spa days just haven’t been happening in the last two years!! So what’s a girl to do? Well get creative of course, I figured if I couldn’t go to the spa, I would bring the spa home to me. I started making my own bath fizzes and fancy body scrubs, I would diffuse essential oils to create that spa like atmosphere and I found that I enjoyed my DIY spa more than I did the real thing. Not only was I saving money but I was also being more conscious of what was going on and in my body! That was huge, and turned out to be the tip of the iceberg. I started replacing chemical cleaners with oils, beauty products and lotions such as my homemade body butter, over the counter medications for heartburn, headaches, sunburns, sleep aids. All replaced with essential oils. It’s amazing. They have become our go-to for first line of defense. Whenever me or Dustin have a headache we reach for our headache roller first. If that doesn’t help for whatever reason then we’ll take Tylenol. When my heartburn acts up I’ll take a peppermint beadlet and almost always that helps, saving my acid reflux meds for when it’s really bad instead of every case of indigestion. Neither of us sleeps very well if we forget to use our sleepy-time blend on our feet at night. And I love the smell of my eucalyptus laundry detergent.

I have found that since we transitioned to essential oils our headaches are less frequent, my allergies are so much less severe and I just feel better. I will never say that essential oils are the perfect solution to ever problem, but they are a great all natural first step, especially for those of us who like to control exactly what is in our environment. Essential oils are distilled from plants and creates and extremely concentrated version of that plant, ever heard of drinking peppermint or ginger tea for a tummy ache? Then you’ve experienced the power of essential oils in a very diluted form! Essential oils are up to 100s of times more powerful than the original plant and that means it takes very little of the oil to get the same effect. I love this, because it saves us money! That’s huge. The money we’ve saved on pain medications, sleep aids, heartburn medications has been significant. Essential oils may seem like an expensive purchase up front, but in reality you are saving money. Per dose you can see the difference is dramatic! For example, one dose of omeprazole costs about .40/pill and you’re supposed to take it twice a day to prevent heartburn. OR I could take one dose of peppermint essential oil at .11/drop whenever heartburn hits and it’s gone almost as quickly as it shows up! That’s some serious savings. Check out this post by Glad2Be Living that compares the costs of common OTC medications and Essential Oils!

doTERRA-Family-Physician
I love DoTerra oils, I’ve used a couple of different brands and this is the one I love the best. But whatever brand you prefer that’s perfectly fine! On top of high quality oils I love the DoTerra brand for their customer service and the deals I’m able to get on my oils. Because I am a wellness advocate with DoTerra I am able to earn free oil! Yep FREE! That’s a deal I like. Every month I order through the Loyalty Rewards Program and up to 30% of my order comes back to me in the form of points that I can use on future oil purchases! I save up my points and every couple months order myself some oils off my wish list. This is on top of the 25% discount I get off the purchase price just for signing up. Think of it like a Sam’s Club or Costco membership (which is actually more expensive than becoming a member of DoTerra) you pay upfront to get the great prices. I’ve already saved more than my membership cost thanks to this discount. On top of all that every month DoTerra will send you a free bottle of their oil of the month if your LRP order is at least 125 points!

LRP

There are so many opportunities like this and more. I also love being a part of the online communities. When I signed up I became a member of two different Facebook groups full of ideas and tips for using essential oils. I have learned so much from those ladies (and not a few gentlemen) I love seeing people come together to help when someone has a question or ailment! If you sign up to be a wellness advocate here I will send you you’re very own copy of Modern Essentials pocket guide!

IMG_4946

Full of tips and uses for your oils and perfect sized for carrying with you every day. Sign up before 9/30/14 and I will send you a free bottle of Lemon essential oil!

lemon

Below are some of the very first recipes I used with essential oils! They’re super easy to make and really fabulous to use! You’re welcome 😉

Brown Sugar Cinnamon Body Scrub:
1 Cup Brown Sugar
¼ cup oil (Almond, coconut, Doterra Factionated Coconut Oil)
5 drops On-Guard or Cinnamon Oil (On-Guard is a great oil blend for improving your immune system. This scrub would be great for keeping away the winter colds and viruses)

Mix the ingredients together and stir before using, I put it in a jar and keep it on top of my shower and use whenever I feel like pampering myself.

 

Bath Fizzes:
1 Cup Citric Acid (you’ll find it in the canning aisle)
1 Cup baking soda
½ Cup Cornstarch (or arrowroot powder if you prefer)
½ Cup oil (Almond, Coconut, or DoTERRA Fractionated Coconut Oil)
8-10 Drops Essential Oil- I love peppermint or one of the citrus scents for this. Otherwise Lavender is a great calming oil for baths
Silicone mold or saran wrap

Mix together the ingredients and add your oils. Mix well until a soft dough is formed (should almost be like a slightly damp sand. You don’t want it to be wet just damp. If its too wet add more baking soda and cornstarch until you get the right consistency.
Put the mixture into your molds or you can put the saran wrap in cupcake tins. Let dry completely. Depending on how humid it is it can take a couple hours up to a whole day.
To use, just drop one into the tub and let fizz delightfully while you bathe 😀

 

Laundry Detergent:

Powder Version
1 bar of soap- I use Ivory
2 cups washing soda
2 cups borax
1 cup baking soda
10-12 drops of Essential Oil (I like eucalyptus and malelucia)

Grate the bar of soap using a <a href="http://Progressive International Multi Grater Set“>grater. The smaller the grate the better. Mix together dry ingredients, I put it in a large <a href="http://Airtight With Handle Large 40 Cup 10X8X9“>snapware and keep it in there. Add the essential oils and mix thoroughly so the scent is blended and no clumps are left. Use about 1 tablespoon per load of laundry.

 

Liquid Version
1 cup washing soda
1 cup bar soap grated
1 cup borax
1 quart boiling water
10-12 drops of essential oil
Large 5 gallon bucket

Grate soap, boil the quart of water and add soap. Stir and let boil until soap is dissolved, take off the heat. Fill the 5 gallon bucket about halfway with hot water, add the borax and washing soda and stir well. Sir in the melted soap mix and add the essential oils, stir very well. Let set 24 hours before using. Stir very well. I take a portion of the liquid detergent from the large bucket and put it in my <a href="http://Airtight With Handle Large 40 Cup 10X8X9“>snapware container. You use about ¼ cup per load.

Leave a Reply

