Oatmeal Packets

20140722-193843-70723612.jpg
These are simple and delicious meals to add to your 72 hour bags, or to stock up on for at work or school. More nutritious and customizable than the processed oatmeal packets and significantly cheaper! Normally I am not a huge fan of plastic bags, but I’ve made some exceptions. The snack size baggies are great for this project, and since it’s dry goods I don’t mind reusing the baggies a couple times over before I recycle them!
The best part about these packets is the fact that they are completely customizable! I love brown sugar and cinnamon in my oatmeal so that’s what I added, but feel free to add whatever floats your boat! Some great add-ins are dried fruit, nuts, sprinkles (for the kids of course ;-)), chocolate chips, caramel chips, etc.
I put all my ingredients in a big bowl and mix it up before putting them in the baggies, but you can also just put them in straight in the baggies and add what you’d like that way.
For a smaller bowl of oatmeal (perfect for kids) put ¼ cup of quick cook oats per baggie. For adults I prefer about ½ cup of oats. Then add your ingredients!! I made my big bowl of oatmeal with 3 cups of oats, 1 cup brown sugar and ¼ cup of cinnamon. That’s a good starting place in my opinion, makes it flavorful and sweet enough which is how I like my oatmeal. If you prefer less sweet cut back on the brown sugar. If you’re adding extras throw them in now! Stir. Stir. Stir!! Once everything is mixed up scoop out the mixture into you’re baggies! You’ll end up with about 9-10 adult sized portions and 15-18 kids sized. To cook you’ll need heated water (or a microwave) about ½ cup of water per baggie if you like you’re oatmeal thicker. ¾ of a cup for a thinner. Of course you can use milk if you prefer. Stir and enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Oatmeal Packets

  1. Pingback: 72-Hour Bag: What to Run Away With When The Zombies Come! | Little Blog On the homestead

Leave a Reply

